Race Cards 3.0 / Selina Thompson / Fri 20th March

1.

“my grandmother wants to know if you see blue through your blue eyes”

Carol Mavor Black and Blue (2012)

2.

I am aware of my white male perspective

I am aware of my blue eyes

These are my racial markers

Perspective is not a fixed, known reality

I try to imagine from your perspective,

an attempt at an empathic engagement

It is not possible

I feel near you but not with you.

The only question I can answer is an either/or:

Audre Lorde or bell hooks?

Leave a Reply

